I’m Afraid of Forgetting

Emy Bracco
3 min readJun 23, 2024

Originally Written 12/9/23

South Lake Tahoe / author & him / edited by me, photo probably by him.

I’m afraid of forgetting

That feeling when we first met

How I could have kissed you for the rest of my life

Held your hand through to the end of days

Were we two people just dealing with the collective trauma?

Or did we really love each other?

I’m afraid of forgetting

What your pot roast tastes like

The way you’d rush to me after creating something in your studio

Sitting at the kitchen table painting while the sounds of your craft filled the room

Feeling so proud to call you mine

I’m afraid of forgetting

The way our children laughed together

Being at baseball games on Saturday’s

Walks by the creek with the dog

Decorating Christmas trees together

What it felt like to have my own family again.

It was taken from me once before

Only to gain it back

Different — but still mine

Until it wasn’t.

--

--

Emy Bracco

Writing poems since before I knew what poetry meant. Maybe, that's why I never kept a single one. Not until my heart broke open did I start keeping my words.